Skip to Content

Four ICHS Students Participate in Puerto Rican/Hispanic Youth Leadership Institute


(March 23, 2018) Alex Gomez, Larissa Gomez, Areli Meza and Leslie Gomez represented Ichabod Crane High School as members of the Capital District Delegation at the Puerto Rican/Hispanic Youth Leadership Institute on March 10-12 in Albany, New York.

The weekend began with a welcome address by Capital District Delegates Kayla Rivera (Troy HIgh School) and Larissa Gomez from Ichabod Crane High School. This was followed by a Keynote address by local activist and performer Taina Asili. Over 200 delegates from across New York State participated in team building activities that focused on art as a tool for social activism. The second day of the Institute found students in caucus and debate on the floor of the Assembly at the New York State Capitol. Students utilized over 30 hours of training in debate, research and government to represent their assembly member in debate.

The debate was followed by an scholarship banquet at the Franklin Plaza in Troy. SOMOS provided over $40,000 in scholarship monies to senior delegates. Alex Gomez from Ichabod Crane High School was the top scholarship winner with his essay entitled La Realidad Del SueƱo Americano Para Un Inmigrante (The Immigrant Reality of the American Dream.) Also, Larissa Gomez was awarded the Yesenia Valle Memorial Scholarship for her essay entitled La Comedia Es Mas Que Una Risa (Comedy is More Than Just a Smile.) The final day of the Institute found Larissa Gomez attending the Board of Regents Meeting with fellow Capital District members Xavier Fitzsimmons Cruz (Bethlehem High School) and Maria Munoz (Hoosick Falls High School.) Also, delegates met with Assemblywomen Fahy and Walsh and Assemblymen Phil Steck, and John McDonald III. Lastly, students met with the Chair of the Puerto Rican/Hispanic Task Force and Co-Chair of Legislative Task Force on Demographic Research Assemblyman Marcos Crespo.

A special thank you to ICHS students Mayra Morales and Samantha Boscan-Ramos.

"They were part of the PRHYLI training but were not chosen for the weekend Institute due to their freshman status," said Theresa Longhi-Chirlin. "They were a great asset to the Capital District Delegation during training as we prepared for the weekend Institute. Thank you Mayra and Samantha!"

Congratulations to these students!


Angelo Del Toro Scholarship winners Alex Gomez (Ichabod Crane High School)
and Xavier F. Cruz (Bethlehem High School) and Yesenia Valle Memorial Scholarship
winner Larissa Gomez (Ichabod Crane High School)

Capital District Delegation: Left to right, Back Row: IIrlanda Hernandez (Hoosick Falls High School), Leslie Gomez (Ichabod Crane High School), Lourdes Colon (Hoosick Falls High School), Ana Perez (Shenendehowa High School), Jeremias Brea (Coxsackie-Athens High School), Areli Meza (Ichabod Crane High School), Xavier F. Cruz (Bethlehem High School), Larissa Gomez (Ichabod Crane High School), Alex Gomez (Ichabod Crane HIgh School)
FRONT ROW: Maria Munoz (Hoosick Falls High School), Kayla Rivera (Troy High School), Fabiola Gomez (Albany Academy)

Capital District Delegation huddle at Legislative Office Building