Skip to Content

Common Core Learning Standards

In January 2011, the NYS Board of Regents adopted the NYS P-12 CCLS, which include the Common Core State Standards and a small amount of additional standards uniquely added by New York State. The New York State P-12 CCLS were implemented in New York State schools at the beginning of the 2012-2013 school year.

The standards provide a consistent, clear understanding of what students are expected to learn, so that teachers and parents know what they need to do to help them. The standards are designed to be robust and relevant to the real world, reflecting the knowledge and skills that our young people need for success in college and careers. With American students fully prepared for the future, our communities will be best positioned to compete successfully in the global economy.

By having common standards, all students across the state—and across the country—should have the opportunity to learn the same skills. In the past, every state had its own set of academic standards, meaning U.S. students were learning different skills and concepts at different rates. The Common Core Standards give all students an equal opportunity to learn at higher levels. In turn, pupils should graduate with a greater chance to succeed in college, careers and life.

Common Core Shifts

With the new standards, students will be learning skills that are more in-depth, advanced and challenging than the content they learned in the past. These changes are called Common Core “shifts.” There are 12 shifts that the Common Core requires of schools if we are to be truly aligned with it in terms of curricular materials and classroom instruction. There are six shifts in ELA/ Literacy and six shifts in Mathematics.

For example, in ELA, students will:

  • Learn about the world by reading;
  • Read more challenging material;
  • Talk about reading using evidence gathered from the material read;
  • Learn how to write based on what was read;
  • Learn more vocabulary words.

In mathematics, students will:

  • Build on content and concepts learned in the previous grade level;
  • Spend more time on fewer concepts (i.e., learn in a more in-depth way);
  • Develop speed and accuracy in solving problems;
  • Really understand math and how to use it in real-world situations;
  • Prove mathematics knowledge by showing step-by-step how problems were solved.


The transition and implementation of the new Math and English Language Arts (ELA) Common Core State Standards are mandated by the state. In academic year 2012-13, all ELA and mathematics instruction were to be aligned to the Common Core, except for grades 9-12 instruction, which will phase in according to the Common Core implementation timeline. At Ichabod Crane, teams of teachers and administrators have worked to align local curriculum with the new standards. They have also taken part in professional development meant to help them implement CCLS in the classroom.

State Assessments

Students were assessed on the new standards beginning in the 2012-13 school year. On August 7, 2013, the State Education Department released results of the grades 3-8 math and English Language Arts exams that students took in April 2013 -- results from the first exams that reflected the new, more difficult Common Core Learning Standards. Read the State Press Release of 2013 grade 3-8 assessments.